St. Francis Colleges Welcomes Next Author In Walt Whitman Writers Series

Ron Currie, Jr.  Photo By : Tristan Spinski
Ron Currie, Jr.
Photo By : Tristan Spinski

St. Francis College proudly welcomes Ron Currie, author of The One-Eyed Man, as the next author to speak in the Walt Whitman Writers Series on Wednesday, October 25 at 5:00pm in the Maroney Forum for Arts, Culture & Education.

Currie’s other work includes the novels Everything Matters! and Flimsy Little Plastic Miracles and the short story collection God is Dead, which was the winner of the New York Public Library’s Young Lions Award. In 2009, he received the Addison M. Metcalf Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. His books have been translated into fifteen languages. He lives in Portland, Maine.

Previous authors in the Walt Whitman series include: Tanwi Nandini Islam, Chad Harbach, Marlon, James, Paul Beatty, Junot Díaz, Charles Baxter, George Saunders, James Salter, Colum McCann, Ben Marcus, Dinaw Mengestu, Kate Christensen, Julie Orringer, Jonathan Lethem, Darcey Steinke, and Rick Moody.

The Walt Whitman Series is a continuation of St. Francis College’s commitment to supporting Brooklyn’s literary community. In addition to visits by these authors, the College also offers the biennial $50,000 St. Francis College Literary Prize for mid-career authors. The winner for the 2017 prize was Dana Spiotta (Innocents and Others).




Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *