Brooklyn author releases finale to action-packed trilogy

Nils Johnson-Shelton. Photos courtesy of HarperCollins
Nils Johnson-Shelton. Photos courtesy of HarperCollins

The Seven Swords have been retrieved. The gate to Avalon has been opened. The Round Table awaits. Now, the final stage of Artie Kingfisher’s quest is about to begin in “The Dragon King,” the explosive finale of Brooklyn author Nils Johnson-Shelton’s thrilling and action-packed tween trilogy, The Otherworld Chronicles.

Nils switched gears to middle-grade fantasy fiction after his first book, “No Angel: My Harrowing Undercover Journey to the Inner Circle of the Hells Angels,” became a New York Times bestseller.

The Otherworld Chronicles is a twist on the King Arthur legend. Brother and sister duo Artie and Kay Kingfisher are thrown into an epic adventure when his video game, Otherworld, springs to life. When Artie discovers he is none other than THE King Arthur, brought to life in the 21st century, it’s up to him and his sister to save the real Otherworld. In the third book, “The Dragon King” (just released), Artie’s life-changing quest comes to a spectacular close as the young king discovers what it truly means to be a hero.

Artie has escaped the evil Lordess Morgaine, reclaimed Excalibur, and reached the legendary isle of Avalon, where he will take his rightful place as King Arthur reborn. But the battle is far from over.

The-Dragon-King-Hardcover-P9780062070975Morgaine still plots to overthrow Artie and claim Excalibur for her own, while Merlin’s blind quest for power grows wilder and more dangerous every day. In preparation for the greatest battle of his life, Artie must unlock the secrets of an ancient and mysterious tool called Scarffern, and recover nothing less than the mythical Holy Grail.  However, Artie’s final fight won’t be against an enemy—but someone who he used to call friend.

* * *

Nils Johnson-Shelton is the co-author of the New York Times bestselling “No Angel: My Harrowing Undercover Journey to the Inner Circle of the Hells Angels.”  The Otherworld Chronicles is his first middle grade series. Nils lives in Brooklyn with his family.

Related Posts